Welcome to SkydioPilots.com

DJI vs Skydio Privacy Concerns

VEGASROBBI

Reaction score
I thought this was very interesting, especially since it was posted by Blade Strike(Ken Booth), a DJI rep. My DJI GO 4 App continued to grow and run in the background of my tablet so I removed it. I do feel safer with Parrot and SD.

Reactions: Portolo
I thought this was very interesting, especially since it was posted by Blade Strike(Ken Booth), a DJI rep. My DJI GO 4 App continued to grow and run in the background of my tablet so I removed it. I do feel safer with Parrot and SD.

Where and when did Blade Strike post this....link?

What privacy info do you believe is being transmitted that would benefit the Chinese?

Well I'm not an expert but Kevin Finisterre proved DJI had access to all the vital records your tablet has access too and was posting it on unsecure websites. Credit card, driver license, location, images..... you name it they had access to it. Fortunately the US Military dropped DJI in 2017 due to this concern, think the location and images of our armed forces were accessible to the Chinese. DJI as much as fessed up to it and launched the government drone but it's difficult to get confidence back IMO.

What privacy info do you believe is being transmitted that would benefit the Chinese?
Depends on who the user is, and where the drones are flying.

By having a software updater that operates outside of Google's app store, DJI could easily spear fish high value targets with custom executables. They could equally target high value locations that they wished further scrutinize, then side-load custom updates only to users who regularly flew in those areas.