Welcome to SkydioPilots.com

Which iPad

mswlogo

Reaction score
First, I know about the Tripltek, sorry I try to minimize my exposure to Android. Even though I program on Android for a living ;)

I had a DJI RC Pro for a Mavic 3. I loved that controller. Size was fine. You have take in consideration aspect ratios, at least on DJI. The RC Pro is effectively larger than 5.5” because the aspect ratio better matches the Drone Video feed aspect ratio of 4:3 (native). So you get about as much useful real estate as say an iPhone 13 Pro Max (because the iPhones are skinny and have the notch you lose a lot of screen with black bars on the side).

I have a 10.5” (I think) 4 year old iPad Pro. I suspect that’s too big. Maybe not.

I was thinking of getting an iPad mini. Kind of bummed it doesn’t have the M1 chip. I could get a new M1 iPad Pro but smallest is 11”, again to big and heavy. I would like to use the iPad for other things besides the Drone.

Also, I’ve never flown a Skydio. Heard that the controller is very laggy. But that was an old Video. So I’m not sure how much I should even invest in a iPad for the Skydio controller. I know I don’t like the idea of using my iPhone 13 Pro in it. Because it’s too prone to pop loose.

I did order the Skydio Pro Kit with the tablet adapter.

can confirm the iPad Pro 11" will just squeeze into the official Parrot tablet adaptor that comes with the Pro Kit. You have to slide it in from the end without the buttons

The square edged iPhones since the 12 fit much better in the controller, I haven't had any issues with them popping out, which is more likely on the rounder style phones

I'm usually on a sandy hot beach so don't often take the iPad out and about and used to have the iPhone in the controller simultaneously flying with the Beacon as a RTH back-up when I have a spotter/assistant, but they have since updated the capabilities of the Beacon so it's not always necessary for me now

Reactions: mswlogo