Welcome to SkydioPilots.com
Sign up and join the discussion!
Sign up

SD 2 Max SD Card size

Ridefreak

Well-known member
Wiki Editor
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
337
Reaction score
176
I looked around the documentation and couldn't find out what the Max SD card size is, I probably missed it somewhere. Anyone know?
 
  • Like
Reactions: EnriqueVega

Pappy

Active member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
Messages
34
Reaction score
11
Location
Georgia Mountains
From the "Getting Started" guide -
"The Skydio 2 requires a UHS Speed Class 3 (U3) or faster microSD card to record 4k video. "
ref: Getting Started with Skydio 2

The Skydio store shows a SanDisk 128GB Extreme microSD

There is no mention of a maximum card size. My recommendation based on my use of a 4k camera recording at the same 100Mb rate in H.264 is that a 128GB card is more than enough to cover 4 battery packs of end to end recording, especially if you choose the H.265 codec. Using smaller cards means you will lose less video should the day ever come when the card should fail.
 
  • Like
Reactions: EnriqueVega

Ridefreak

Well-known member
Wiki Editor
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
337
Reaction score
176
I saw where the Pro kit comes with a 128G also. I have six 256G cards that I carry for the H8B and it'd be nice to be able to use the same cards in both, that's a first world problem and I'm not going to sweat it . What I noticed with the SD2 is you have to manually go back and delete anything off the card otherwise it eventually fills up. At least when you go to launch it will come back and tell you there's not enough memory space for recording the flight.
 
  • Like
Reactions: EnriqueVega

Ridefreak

Well-known member
Wiki Editor
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
337
Reaction score
176
I just bought 5 PNYs for $15 ea. We often go on trips where we end up with 100s of GB of data, @ 4K between a GP and a drone I can fill up a laptop HD in a few days. Unfortunately I have to retire my fleet of UHS-1 cards. With the hero 8B and the SD2s high bitrates they're not usable @ 4K.

 

Ridefreak

Well-known member
Wiki Editor
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
337
Reaction score
176
I received a response from SD; "The largest we use are 256gb. As long as you're using UHS Class 2, the size shouldn't be a limitation. "
 

Lee

Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2019
Messages
22
Reaction score
5
I wrote Skydio and received an answer about the card size, they said a 256GB card would work.
 

Ridefreak

Well-known member
Wiki Editor
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
337
Reaction score
176
They wrote me back and said UHS-2 was a mistake, it requires a UHS-3
 

Jim

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
80
Reaction score
25
Hi all, new here, Skydio 2 owner (ordered within the first 10 minutes of availability and received last week - lucky man I know, and so far, other than the issues below, I’d say it’s amazing).

I bought a 1TB SanDisk Extreme card for it so I wouldn’t have to archive so often (same type as the 128GB that comes in the Pro Kit - 160MB throughput, UHS class 3, etc.) but think I may be experiencing some issues with it so the size might be an issue - the drone seems to recognize the card and I’ve successfully recorded a few flight videos but sometimes the Media screen in the app will not finish syncing (gets stuck), and sometimes I’m getting v17: Camera Issue or V71: SD Media Issue errors at the Calibration stage at drone startup, which I can eventually get rid of through repeated restarts, and I’m wondering if it’s choking on the size of the card trying to reindex every time I start up or something. I’ve sent a report to support on it just this morning so it may be unrelated or a software bug in the first release but FYI.
 

leenanj

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 1, 2019
Messages
81
Reaction score
29
Hi all, new here, Skydio 2 owner (ordered within the first 10 minutes of availability and received last week - lucky man I know, and so far, other than the issues below, I’d say it’s amazing).

I bought a 1TB SanDisk Extreme card for it so I wouldn’t have to archive so often (same type as the 128GB that comes in the Pro Kit - 160MB throughput, UHS class 3, etc.) but think I may be experiencing some issues with it so the size might be an issue - the drone seems to recognize the card and I’ve successfully recorded a few flight videos but sometimes the Media screen in the app will not finish syncing (gets stuck), and sometimes I’m getting v17: Camera Issue or V71: SD Media Issue errors at the Calibration stage at drone startup, which I can eventually get rid of through repeated restarts, and I’m wondering if it’s choking on the size of the card trying to reindex every time I start up or something. I’ve sent a report to support on it just this morning so it may be unrelated or a software bug in the first release but FYI.
I would be surprised if it supports a 1TB card, does it work ok with a 250GB or smaller card?
 

Jim

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
80
Reaction score
25
I would be surprised if it supports a 1TB card, does it work ok with a 250GB or smaller card?
Well, apparently my issues with various issues and faults are not caused by the 1TB card, I’m still getting the same faults, battery life and other issues with a new 128GB card I bought, so other problems notwithstanding (which I’m hoping will be remedied but waiting on support response), I’m calling the 1TB card supported.
 

Latest threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
490
Messages
4,135
Members
471
Latest member
2manyfries