Welcome to SkydioPilots.com
Sign up and join the discussion!
Sign up

Who's given a friend the beacon, flown with controller, and Skydio goes out of range. What happens?

baksideDisasterFlicks

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 13, 2020
Messages
86
Reaction score
37
So I was filming snowboarding from mountain top the other day and I tracking some friends going down a chute. I knew that Skydio would go out of range by the time it made it to the bottom of the chute cause well we all know range sucks. I wanted to give my buddy the beacon but I'm not sure what would happen once it goes out of range of the controller. I assumed it'll just keep tracking the beacon once it went out of range which would put Skydio in a place where my buddy would have to land and retrieve it. So I made the call to fly as far as I could with the controller and not give them the beacon which ended up blowing some of the shot.

Anyone have any experience here? I think it'll keep tracking the beacon. What would you do in this scenario? I plan to test this out soon in a better environment where loosing connection has lesser consequences and I can easily ride down the mountain to retrieve the drone. This particular scenario there was no way I could reach my friends as I had to pick them up at the bottom with my snowmobile. Video here for reference, I'm standing at the peak of this mountain flying manually in most of the shots:
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jetlag

With.A.Map

New member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
This is all I have done. I have had success with giving the Beacon to someone else. I also use the app to get Skydio to recognize the face although I am not sure that matters. I encountered a problem once when the App tried to reconnect with the drone (or beacon) and Skydio almost landed on the spot. I am still experimenting though.
 

With.A.Map

New member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
I am about ready to experiment with this today. I am hoping that once the battery goes low, Skydio will go back home but it might just land on the spot like you said.
 

Ridefreak

Well-known member
Wiki Editor
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
449
Reaction score
236
I am about ready to experiment with this today. I am hoping that once the battery goes low, Skydio will go back home but it might just land on the spot like you said.
It will not go home, it's going to land where the battery runs low at.
 

Chuggie Cuda

Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
10
So I was filming snowboarding from mountain top the other day and I tracking some friends going down a chute. I knew that Skydio would go out of range by the time it made it to the bottom of the chute cause well we all know range sucks. I wanted to give my buddy the beacon but I'm not sure what would happen once it goes out of range of the controller. I assumed it'll just keep tracking the beacon once it went out of range which would put Skydio in a place where my buddy would have to land and retrieve it. So I made the call to fly as far as I could with the controller and not give them the beacon which ended up blowing some of the shot.

Anyone have any experience here? I think it'll keep tracking the beacon. What would you do in this scenario? I plan to test this out soon in a better environment where loosing connection has lesser consequences and I can easily ride down the mountain to retrieve the drone. This particular scenario there was no way I could reach my friends as I had to pick them up at the bottom with my snowmobile. Video here for reference, I'm standing at the peak of this mountain flying manually in most of the shots:
Nice Video, I had to take off my board and hike up the hill a ways (1/3 to 1/2 a mile) to get my Skydio2 .
 

skydioconvert

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 15, 2019
Messages
751
Reaction score
144
HUH !!!

Now that's quite an admission.... did a Skydio rep actually just say that??
 

Ridefreak

Well-known member
Wiki Editor
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
449
Reaction score
236
I thought that (that the beacon is totally separate) was obvious. I've never read or heard of the two being used together.
 

baksideDisasterFlicks

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 13, 2020
Messages
86
Reaction score
37
I thought that (that the beacon is totally separate) was obvious. I've never read or heard of the two being used together.
Why not? The use case seems obvious to me, beacon helps track subject, controller in case any manual piloting or shot changes are needed. You can do it with the phone and beacon, it's just way more awkward when it comes to manual piloting.
 
  • Like
Reactions: richinAZ

Ridefreak

Well-known member
Wiki Editor
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
449
Reaction score
236
Well mainly because I've read all the user documentation and it doesn't mention that and it for sure would if the system had that capability. I'm not saying it wouldn't be nice to have but we would have read about it.
 
Last edited:

MauiMikey

New member
Joined
Jan 26, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
4
Well don't I feel stupid. I just bought the controller for just this scenario. I could have sworn I saw a video showing this combination. Oh well, I prefer a two stick controller and I believe it gives the best range.
Any chance a firmware update would allow the controller and beacon to play well together?
 
  • Like
Reactions: richinAZ

Latest threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
694
Messages
5,603
Members
850
Latest member
PA452