Welcome to SkydioPilots.com

what phone should i use?

pbacksport

Reaction score
i want to get a phone ONLY for dedicated flying the 2+. i tried to search and there's not much here. i contacted skydio and they recommended an ipad mini 5 or "something newer".

what do you use? i'd prefer iOS but android is fine too.

pbacksport

Reaction score
thanks! i should have been a little more descriptive in my post// i'm not looking to spend more than $100 since it'll just be used for flying. i'm a hobbyist.

Sky Cyclist

Reaction score
I used my retired Android phone for the dedicated drone flight operations. And, it works very well.

The cost is 0.

And, here is the requirements of the Skydio App for your reference:

iOS
Check the App Store for compatibility with your specific device.
Device must be running 64-bit iOS 12.0 (or higher)
iPhone 6 (or higher), iPad Air (or higher), iPad Mini 2 (or higher)
NOTE: We're investigating an incompatibility between iPad Air (4th gen) and Skydio Controller and will update this list ASAP.
Minimum space on device: ~500mb

Android

Check Google Play for compatibility with your specific device.
Device must be running Android 9.0 (or higher)
NOTE: We're investigating an incompatibility between Samsung Galaxy 8 and Skydio Controller and will update this list ASAP.
Minimum space on device: ~500mb

pbacksport

Reaction score
awesome! i have a 6s hanging around. glad to see that'll work.

can't wait to get started with this thing. i'm upgrading from a dji mavic mini i've had for a few years

kenmavic2zoom

Reaction score
thanks! i should have been a little more descriptive in my post// i'm not looking to spend more than $100 since it'll just be used for flying. i'm a hobbyist.
no problem. except i would say using an iphone 6 to fly the s2+ is going to suck.

pbacksport

Reaction score
no problem. except i would say using an iphone 6 to fly the s2+ is going to suck.