Welcome to SkydioPilots.com

Camera frame rates

nelsongoforth

Reaction score
I tried changing my camera to 60fps for slow-motion. The video seems to come through with 60fps in metadata, but there is no slo-mo effect...all motion seems pretty normal.

My experience is working with a Red Dragon and with a Panasonic GH4, and frame rate changes seem to work very straightforwardly there. Is there something I'm missing? I don't find anything in the User Guide.

Thank you, and Happy New Year!

I just got my Skydio 2 recently and haven't even flown it yet. But I'm an accomplished photographer and hobbyist videographer.

For your video editing software, you're setting your sequence at 24 fps or 30 fps? To achieve slow motion, you need to set your sequence at a lower frame rate than your recording. That said, 60 fps to 24 fps doesn't cause a dramatic slow motion. For dramatic slow motion, you really need to record in 120 fps or higher.

I tried changing my camera to 60fps for slow-motion. The video seems to come through with 60fps in metadata, but there is no slo-mo effect...all motion seems pretty normal.

My experience is working with a Red Dragon and with a Panasonic GH4, and frame rate changes seem to work very straightforwardly there. Is there something I'm missing? I don't find anything in the User Guide.

Thank you, and Happy New Year!
The 60FPS means it's taking 2x as many shots of the scene, to get the slo-mo benefit of that you have to slow the clip down during editing. 60FPS itself really has noting to do with slo motion, it just provides 2x as many shots which allows you to make that footage slo-mo later without having a picture that jerks every frame. 60fps will allow you to slow it down to 50% with not apparent effect on quality. Everything I film is in 60fps since I never know ahead of time what I might want to slo-mo.

Reactions: richinAZ